battle of the books team

2016-17 Battle of the Books Team Announced

Academy at the Lakes is proud to announce the members of the 2016-17 Battle of the Books 6-8th Grade team:

Saneyah Khan, Captain
Josh Bain
Saipriya Gande
Kayla Martinell-Smith
Malia Nelson
Avery Issac, Alternate
Madison Johnson, Alternate

To qualify for the team, students must read up to 15 books from the Sunshine State Young Readers’ Award, and take a competitive exam.

The Academy team will compete against seven other teams from member schools in the Bay Area Association of Independent Schools at Berkeley Preparatory School on Wednesday, May 3, 2017.

Battle of the Books is a reading incentive program designed to encourage students to read quality literature. The purpose of the Battle of the Books is to promote pleasure reading and have fun.