University of Rochester Awards

Four Academy Juniors Earn University of Rochester High School Awards

Director of College Counseling, Deborah Pitcairn nominated four Academy juniors for the University of Rochester High School Awards Program. All four students received the award for which they were nominated. Students who have earned this award, apply, and are accepted to the University of Rochester will be eligible to receive a scholarship to the school of at least $10,000 per year. Participation for these awards is open to all secondary schools.

Academy students won the following awards:

Lyra Gaboardi – Bausch + Lomb Honorary Science Award

  • High achievement and rigor in science classes
  • Positive contributions to their school and within the larger community

Daniella Tello-Garzon – Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award

  • Demonstrated commitment to understanding and addressing difficult social issues
  • Leadership and dedication to community action
  • Strong grades and rigorous courses taken in the humanities and social sciences

Zachary Moore – George Eastman Young Leaders Award

  • Strong leadership experience at school and in the community
  • High grades and challenging courses
  • Extensive involvement in extracurricular activities

Eric Hutchison – Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology

  • Strong interest in innovation and/or information technology and a high level of achievement in this area
  • Exposure to new technologies outside of school, such as pursuing serious work opportunities in local laboratories or industry
  • Leading other students to new approaches to old problems, e.g. business plans for fundraising; innovative community service; after-school activities; and best uses of internal communications tools such as chat and blogs