AATL Football All-State and Conference

Academy Football Team Receives Most FCAPPS All-Conference/All-State Honors in School History

The Florida Christian Association of Private and Parochial Schools (FCAPPS) recently announced their All-Conference and All-State selections for the 2017-18 season. 10 Academy student-athletes were given these honors, the most in school history.

Jalen Brown ’21 – FCAPPS All Conference Quarterback
Denzyl Downing ’20 – FCAPPS All State Sportsmanship Award
Daniel Gonzlalez ‘18 – FCAPPS All State Linebacker & Heisman Trophy Winner
Andrew Kilfoyl ‘21 – FCAPPS All State Offensive Lineman
Evan Lutz ‘18 – FCAPPS All Conference Center
Zachary Moore ’18 – FCAPPS All State Special Teams Selection
Jordan Oladokun ’21 – FCAPPS All State DB/Corner/Safety
Dylan Price ‘19 – FCAPPS All State Defensive Lineman
Isaiah Smith ‘18 – FCAPPS All State End

“This is great for our program, it shows that all their hard work has paid off for all the kids and sets a foundation for next year,” said Head Football Coach Shawn Brown.

Coach Brown was selected as the State Coach of the Year. He is the first Academy coach to be named Coach of the Year since the league began in 2006. He was also recognized on Sunday, Feb. 25 at the Nike Coach of the Year Clinic in Orlando.

“I could not have won this award without the support of my coaching staff, the kids buying into my philosophy, and the endless support from the student body, faculty, and administration. And, needless to say, the support of my Wife,” Coach Brown said.

“The entire Academy community is extremely proud of this team and their coaching staff on their amazing season,” said Athletic Director Tom Haslam. “We’re also thrilled that Coach Brown was chosen as the State Coach of the Year. This team’s success is a direct result of hard work, dedication, and leadership that Coach Brown has demonstrated over the past few years. More than that, Coach Brown is a rock-solid role model who goes far beyond teaching football to these student-athletes.”

Leave a Reply